. .

Thread: Help and advice

Good morning,

This is my first post so please forgive me if this is in the wrong sub-forum and has been covered in previous posts. I have searched but not really found what I have been looking for.

I am currently working on a very modest fixed gantry style machine with a work area of around 450*450*200. I have almost completed (if such a thing is possible) the X & Y axes and I am now turning my attention to the Z. I have an overall design in mind for this but to move forward I need to select a spindle. It is at this point I have no experience of what would be a good choice? I am trying to avoid the scenario of buying the wrong spindle and replacing it a year later.

My machining background is from manual hobby machines -Warco 290V lathe and WM18B Mill and before that the ubiquitous Myford ML7 and Clarke metalworker. The plans for the machine is to primarily cut Aluminium, plastics and maybe the odd bit of dead tree carcass but I am also hoping by keeping the DOC small I will be able to cut steel components for the restoration projects I am planning (Westfield 7 and T140V Bonny).

I am thinking of running Mach4 although I have yet to find a motion controller I am happy with so any advice here would also be welcome?

Thanks in advance for any input from you more experienced guys out there.

Regards
    Simon

This is not a recommendation, just one data point from one user to get the ball rolling...